Hamilton Depression Rating Scale (HDRS) Calculator

depressed mood
(sadness, feeling hopeless, helpless, self-deprecation)
feelings of guilt
Early night insomnia
Middle of the night insomnia
Morning insomnia
Work and activities
(slowness of thought and speech; decreased ability to concentrate; decreased motor activity).
Psychic anxiety
Somatic anxiety
Physical concomitants of anxiety such as: gastrointestinal (dry mouth, digestive disorders, diarrhea, colic, belching), cardiovascular (palpitations, headache), respiratory (hyperventilation, sighing), pollakiuria, sweating.
Gastrointestinal somatic symptoms
General somatic symptoms
Genital symptoms
such as loss of libido, and menstrual disorders.
Weight loss: (rated either A or B)
A: According to the patient's statements
B: Assessment by weekly weighings by the nursing staff when current changes in weight are assessed

Result :

Hamilton Depression Rating Scale (HDRS)

Hamilton Depression Rating Scale: HDRS and abbreviated as HAM-D is a multiple-choice questionnaire that clinicians can use to measure the severity of a patient's major depression. Max Hamilton first published the scale that this questionnaire attempts to measure in 1960, revised and evaluated it in 1966, 1967, 1969, and 1980. When it was published it was called the gold standard, but since the test and conceptual bases were questioned. Hamilton also indicated that his test could not be used as a diagnostic tool.

The questionnaire measures the severity of the symptoms observed during the depression (for example, mood disorders, insomnia, anxiety, and weight loss). In 2011, it is one of the most used in the American medical community to assess depression.

The clinician selects one of the proposed responses by interviewing the patient and observing their symptoms. Each question has 3 to 5 answer choices in increasing order of severity. In the first questionnaire published in 1960, the 17 questions were used to establish the final score (HRSD-17). Questions 18 to 21 help to better judge depression, by controlling the diurnal variation of symptoms, the presence of psychotic or paranoid symptoms, etc. A structured interview guide is also available.

Hamilton Depression Rating Scale (HDRS) Calculator

The Hamilton Depression Scale is the most commonly used test to assess the intensity of depressive symptoms. It is valid for all people, including the elderly, although certain aspects may sometimes be inoperative (eg those which refer to professional activities when it may be a question of retired people).

      The assessment is usually done every two weeks. The higher the score, the more severe the depression:

      The score of 10 to 13: mild depressive symptoms.

      The score of 14 to 17: mild to moderate depressive symptoms.

      Score greater than 18: moderate to severe depressive symptoms.